The Robert Greenblatt Award

The Robert Greenblatt Award is for young investigators who present the best abstracts in the field of menopause. Named in honour of the first IMS President, Professor Robert Greenblatt, the prize will be awarded to investigators in the categories of basic or clinical science.


Candidates must be under 40 years of age (on day one of the Congress), must be first author of the submitted abstract (only one abstract per candidate), and must not be a past recipient of this Award.


If you meet the requirements, to apply, submit an abstract and thick the checkbox “Greenblatt Award”. After a review, the Scientific Committee will choose the best abstracts that will be presented to the jury at a special oral session on the first day of the Congress. The Award winners (1-2 awards given) will be announced at Opening Ceremony of World Congress

Henry Burger Award

This Award honours the contribution that Professor Henry Burger has made to the field of menopause. It is given to the investigator who is judged as having published the most significant contribution(s) to the field of menopause in basic science or clinical studies with reference to the work done in the previous five years prior to the World Congress (2019-2024).

Criteria for the Award also includes a demonstration of how the research has managed to influence better clinical practice and evidence of measurable impact factors and the citation indices of published papers which might influence clinical practice. The publications must have been in a peer-reviewed journal, in print or e-publication, in the public domain during the qualifying period.

Nominations and self-nominations are accepted. The nominee must provide a short supporting statement highlighting their contribution to menopause research, their CV a list of publications in the previous five years, and any other key relevant information.

The award winner will give a short presentation of their work at the World Congress. In addition to complimentary travel and accommodation to the Congress, the winner is awarded £3,500.

Nominations are now open. Please submit your application to by June 18th, 2024

Wulf Utian Award

This award is given in recognition of Wulf Utian, who originally set up CAMS, and is open to any member who has supported their local CAMS or does great work in their own country to further education on menopause.

This could be nominated by a CAMS, or self-nominated and could include those who make an outstanding contribution to World Menopause Day or any other educational initiatives..

Young Scholars Bursary

The IMS is pleased to invite applications for the 19th World Congress on Menopause Young Scholars Bursary. There are twenty five bursary packages available that include:

  • Complimentary registration to the World Congress;
  • Contribution to travel costs (flights, accommodation and transfers);
  • The opportunity to co-chair an abstract oral communication session with an Expert Commentator at the World Congress;
  • The opportunity to participate in the Menopause Olympics at the World Congress; and
  • Complimentary one-year Associate Membership to the IMS, which includes online access to the IMS journal, Climacteric.

The Young Scholars Bursary is funded via the IMS Endowment for Education and Research (EER). The EER provides funding for education and research initiatives that support the delivery of the IMS’s mission: To work globally to promote and support access to best practice health care for women through their menopause transition and post-reproductive years, enabling them to achieve optimal health and well-being.


Applicants must meet all of the following criteria to apply:

  • Scientists and clinicians aged less than 40 years on day one of the World Congress (19th October 2024);
  • Currently undertaking an accredited research degree e.g. PhD, MD(Res), Master’s or clinical training program, or have completed an accredited research or clinical training program, within the last five years;
  • Interested in co-chairing a session with an Expert Commentator, which will be delivered in English; and
  • Interested in participating in the Menopause Olympics, which will be held in English.


Download the instructions and submit the application form